Memorial Day Sale Save 15% - Use Code: MEMORIAL15

Camp Chef Explorer Double Burner Stove

Camp Chef Explorer Double Burner Stove
Rating
13 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Model Number: EX60LW

$99.99

MSRP: $171.00

Rating
5 star :
54%
( 7 )
4 star :
38%
( 5 )
2 star :
8%
( 1 )
Total : 13 Reviews
Pros Cons
  • (1)
  • (3)
  • (7)
show more Pros
  • (1)
  • (1)
  • (1)
Sort by:

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
I like this stove. Review by jerry
Rating
I bought this two-burner stove based on reviews that it produced enough cooking heat, and that it had two burners - made of cast iron. I only needed one burner for cooking. I already had a similar one-burner unit, but I ordered this two-burner setup because I wanted the extra working space the second burner provides. The burners are easy enough to light manually with a long lighter, but I installed the spark igniter. The spark igniter was tricky to figure out, and did not work on my first two attempts to position the electrode, but I finally positioned the electrode directly *above* one of the gas ports, in the gas stream, about 3/16" above the opening, in the 'Y' section of the burner, and it works very nicely there.

The iron burners in this unit are very fine. It appears that they are investment cast, which means good surface finish and excellent dimensional precision. And of course, if you know about furnace furniture, you will know that gray iron is the material of choice with regard to resistance to thermal fatigue.

The uniform gas flow that the burners exhibit is excellent, and the burners afford a range of heat that is the right amount for cooking meals. The burners themselves should last lifetimes, particularly if protected from the elements. I keep mine indoors, and sometimes (particularly in the winter) may cook indoors, which the instructions forbid. The instructions also say to use the unit only with the attached legs.

Some have made disparaging remarks about the adjustment knobs on the front of the unit where they are exposed to cooking splatters, and the positioning of the propane tank. This does not have to be a problem. The wind shield can be placed on the *front* of the unit to protect both the tank and flame adjustment knobs. You can stand at the rear of the unit to cook. (The food will not know the difference.)

This is one of the best propane stoves on the market based on the quality of the iron burners alone. The air intake adjusters are very well made also. The booklet even explains about the color of flame for best heat adjustment. I am very happy with this stove. I am not a paid endorser or related to the company or product in any way. And I am actually only assuming that the burners are made of gray iron rather than ductile iron. So correct me if I am wrong... (Posted on January 6, 2016)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Definitely yes

Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(12 of 19 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
2 burner stove Review by Daniel
Rating
I bought this a year ago because I did not want to cook inside my trailer. Its light and compact, I love it. it great for camping any wear and I don't dirty my trailer. the price is awesome. (Posted on January 6, 2016)

Pros: Heavy Duty


Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(3 of 4 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
Never been let down Review by Erica Vickman
Rating
Classic Camp Chef stove. I take mine with me on every camping trip. Have never been let down. I had to buy the ignitors and attach them so I don't have to always carry a lighter with me. Wasn't to hard to do. I would like to see a version of this stove with ignitors though. (Posted on January 6, 2016)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(6 of 13 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
Very impressed with construction Review by Frank
Rating
Have not used it yet, but very impressed with design and quality of construction. I'm sure I will have this for years to come. (Posted on January 6, 2016)

Pros: Easy to Light, Great temperature control, Easy To Clean, Stable


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Definitely yes

Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(4 of 11 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
Wonderful Stove Review by Mark
Rating
Bought one of these many, many years ago and have used it extensively. Have used it both at home and while traveling and camping. Ended up giving it to a friend; now I wish I had not done so and am looking to buy another. When I bought mine it didn't have the windbreakers... that is a great addition! These stoves are rugged and worth every bit of the weight(and money)! (Posted on January 6, 2016)

Pros: Great temperature control, Easy to Light, Powerful, Compact, Stable


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Definitely yes

Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(3 of 6 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
Best Camping Stove...by far Review by Jim
Rating
I bought this stove eventhough my old camp stove was working okay. This stove has about 3 times the power. Very efficient, easy to use. With the SG30 griddle, this is a mean machine! Also makes it easy to do "blackened" foods outside. I also purchased the diffusers and will buy the side shelves. One of the best purchases I've made in camping equipment. (Posted on January 6, 2016)

Pros: Easy to Light, Great temperature control, Powerful, Compact, Easy To Clean
Cons: Bulky

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Definitely yes

Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(4 of 9 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
Disappointed Review by Adventurer
Rating
When I assembled the legs, one of the plates for the screw to hold the leg on fell off. It looked more like it was glued on to the leg pole rather then soddered or welded on. It still holds it, but now I have to be careful when lifting it... so that the leg doesn't fall out from underneath. (Posted on January 6, 2016)

Cons: Unstable

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Unlikely

Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(1 of 2 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
Nice item Review by Lao K
Rating
We use this cooking some deep fry, stir fry dishes in back yard to keep kitchen clean._x000D_
This is also good for emergency use such like we did not have power for 4 days during the wind storm in last November. (Posted on January 6, 2016)

Pros: Easy to Light, Powerful, Stable, Lightweight, Easy To Clean


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Definitely yes

Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(1 of 1 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
I would buy this product again and again Review by barbie
Rating
I love this stove I wanted a stove that was light weight but sturdy and a great flame > I love to cook fast > it is just perfect, four of my friends have already boughtone > thank you camp chef you have made my life of cooking a lot easier. (Posted on January 6, 2016)

Pros: Easy to Light, Compact, Easy To Clean, Great temperature control, Powerful, Cooks quickly, Lightweight, Stable


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Definitely yes

Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(7 of 12 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 
Great cooking tool. Review by love to cook
Rating
bought this stove and the two burner griddle. Great combo, goes together with no tools, has a carrying bag for the the legs and wind deflector, that's alittle too light weight and too small to easily get the deflector back in it. The 30000 BTU burners are plenty for the griddle. Temp control is good, the heat defusers on the griddle do a good job (not great) of even heating. I would buy it again. great value for the price (Posted on January 6, 2016)

Pros: Stable


Would you recommend this product to a friend? Definitely yes

Share this review
Do you find this review helpful? 
(8 of 14 people found this review helpful)
 
Inappropriate review? 

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Camp Chef Explorer Double Burner Stove

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating
Pros Cons
show more Pros Enter your Pros, separated by comma
show more Cons Enter your Cons, separated by comma